← All airlines

Qantas with a baby: infant fares, pushchairs, car seats and bassinets

What Qantas says about infant fares, baby baggage, pushchairs, car seats, bassinets and baby milk, taken only from Qantas's official pages. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026.

Key facts (last checked: 30 Oct 2026)

Units follow the UK / US switch in the header (cm and kg, or inches and lb).

Infant fare and lap-infant age

International: infants under 2 without a seat pay 10% of the adult fare and need their own ticket. Domestic: infants can travel on the parent's ticket on the lap. A seat for an infant is a discounted fare booked through Qantas. Healthy babies 8 days or older can travel without medical clearance.

Infant baggage allowance

Infants have no carry-on allowance (the adult can bring a small bag of essentials). Checked allowance always includes three additional infant items, such as a collapsible stroller or cot.

Pushchair and stroller rules

A collapsible stroller is one of three free infant items.

Cabin: A cabin stroller allowance is not stated on the page we checked.

Car seats and child restraints (CRS)

Car seats need Qantas pre-approval and a certification (country-specific list). CARES suits 10 to 20 kg and up to 100 cm. Booster seats aren't permitted, and Qantas restricts seats that need a top tether.

Bassinet or cot

Limited bassinets on international and some domestic 787, A380 and A330 flights. Babies under 11 kg who can lie flat; about 71 × 31 × 26 cm. Charged in international Economy; free in First, Business and Premium Economy.

Baby food and milk

Baby and child meals on request at least 24 hours before.

Compare Qantas with 40 other airlines in our sortable airline pushchair limits table (cm and inches), check your buggy in the cabin size checker, or read pushchair allowances by airline, car seats on planes and bassinet rules.

Sources

Every rule on this page comes from Qantas's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where the airline doesn't say something, we write "not stated by the airline" rather than guess. Rules change, so confirm with Qantas before you fly. Spotted a change? See our airline baby rule changes log.

FAQ

How much does a lap infant cost on Qantas?

International: infants under 2 without a seat pay 10% of the adult fare and need their own ticket. Domestic: infants can travel on the parent's ticket on the lap. A seat for an infant is a discounted fare booked through Qantas. Healthy babies 8 days or older can travel without medical clearance. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Qantas's official website.)

Can I take a pushchair on Qantas?

A collapsible stroller is one of three free infant items. A cabin stroller allowance is not stated on the page we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Qantas's official website.)

Can my baby use a car seat on Qantas?

Car seats need Qantas pre-approval and a certification (country-specific list). CARES suits 10 to 20 kg and up to 100 cm. Booster seats aren't permitted, and Qantas restricts seats that need a top tether. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Qantas's official website.)

Does Qantas have bassinets or cots?

Limited bassinets on international and some domestic 787, A380 and A330 flights. Babies under 11 kg who can lie flat; about 71 × 31 × 26 cm. Charged in international Economy; free in First, Business and Premium Economy. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Qantas's official website.)

Can I bring baby food and milk on Qantas?

Baby and child meals on request at least 24 hours before. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Qantas's official website.)

Compact pushchairs for flying

ProductWeightFolded sizePriceBuy
Bugaboo Butterfly 27.3 kg (16.1 lbs)44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm (17.6 × 9.6 × 21.8 in, IATA cabin-compatible)£435 RRP / $479 MSRPCheck price at Bugaboo
Joolz Aer+6 kg (13.2 lbs)53.5 × 45 × 21.5 cm (21.1 × 17.7 × 8.5 in)£419 RRP / $449 MSRPCheck price at Joolz
Stokke YOYO3 (Babyzen YOYO)6.2 kg (13.6 lbs)52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in, IATA cabin-size)£399 RRP / $449 MSRPCheck price at Stokke
UPPAbaby Minu V27.7 kg (16.9 lbs)58.4 × 45.2 × 29.2 cm (23 × 17.8 × 11.5 in)£399 RRP / $399 MSRPCheck price at UPPAbaby
Joie pact lite5.35 kg (11.8 lbs)46.8 × 26 × 54 cm (18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in)Around £160 / $199 (varies by retailer)Check price at Joie

Blank cells: not yet verified from the maker's official page.

Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.

Handy tools

The Kiddieko letter

Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.


We only use your email to send the letter, and you can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy policy.