Travel Pushchair vs Airline Cabin Compatibility Study 2026 (UK & US)
Which travel pushchairs and strollers fit which airlines' cabin rules? We compared the folded sizes 14 makers publish with the cabin rules of 38 UK, European, US and global airlines, all read from official websites on 30 Oct 2026.
Key findings
- We compared 14 travel pushchairs with the cabin rules of 38 airlines: 532 pairings. 19 (4%) fit the airline's stated cabin limit on paper, 412 (77%) are gate-check only, and 101 (19%) can't be decided because the airline or maker doesn't state the figure we need.
- Only 16 of the 38 airlines state a size a folded pushchair can meet to come into the cabin. The rest hand pushchairs over at the gate, aircraft door or check-in desk, or don't say.
- Even counting only the 16 airlines that state a cabin size, just 19 of 224 pairings (8%) fit on paper. The usual sticking point is width: 10 of the 13 pushchairs with a published size are more than 40 cm across their second-longest side, so they're over the common 55 × 40 × 23 cm limit.
- The most widely compatible pushchair is the Cybex Libelle, fitting the stated cabin limit on 16 of the 16 airlines that give one.
- 1 pushchair fits every airline that states a cabin size: Cybex Libelle.
- 3 of the 13 pushchairs with a published folded size have a longest side over 56 cm (22 in), longer than the longest side of any cabin size stated by the airlines in this study (and over Singapore Airlines' 115 cm total): Silver Cross Jet 5, Nuna TRVL and Chicco Liteway.
- 55 × 40 × 23 cm (21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in) is the most common stated cabin pushchair limit, used by 7 airlines. US airlines that allow a stroller in the cabin tie it to the 22 × 14 × 9 in (56 × 36 × 23 cm) carry-on size.
- Weight matters as well as size: TUI, Vueling and TAP cap a cabin pushchair at 10 kg, Turkish Airlines at 8 kg, Air New Zealand and Singapore Airlines at 7 kg, and American Airlines needs it to be under 20 lb (9 kg).
- Makers' labels aren't airline rules. Bugaboo calls the Butterfly 2 IATA-compatible, UPPAbaby and Joolz say IATA compliant, and Silver Cross calls the Jet 5 cabin approved, but each airline applies its own limit, and on paper these pushchairs miss several of them.
The pushchairs and their folded sizes
| Sold in | Folded size | Weight | Maker's figures | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cybex Libelle | UK & US | 32 × 20 × 48 cm12.6 × 7.9 × 18.9 in | 6 kg13.2 lb | 16 of 16 | Folded size L 32 × W 20 × H 48 cm; 6 kg. Maker's page |
| Stokke YOYO (YOYO² and YOYO³) | UK & US | 52 × 44 × 18 cm20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in | Not stated on the page checked | 1 of 16 | Stokke says YOYO strollers sold since 2012 fold to 52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in). Weight not stated on the page we checked. Maker's page |
| Baby Jogger City Tour 2 | UK & US | 54.9 × 42.9 × 17.3 cm21.6 × 16.9 × 6.8 in | 6.5 kg14.3 lb | 1 of 16 | Folded 21.6 × 16.9 × 6.8 in (54.9 × 42.9 × 17.3 cm); stroller weight 14.3 lb (6.5 kg). Maker's page |
| Joolz Aer | UK | 44 × 53 × 23.5 cm17.3 × 20.9 × 9.3 in | 6.5 kg14.3 lb | 1 of 16 | Ultra compact size 44 × 53 × 23.5 cm; 6.5 kg. Maker's page |
| Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | UK & US | 44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm17.6 × 9.6 × 21.9 in | 7.3 kg16.1 lb | 0 of 16 | Compact fold (IATA-compatible) 44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm; 7.3 kg fully assembled. Maker's page |
| Joie Pact Lite | UK | 46.8 × 26 × 54 cm18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in | 5.3 kg11.8 lb | 0 of 16 | Folded size 46.8 × 26 × 54 cm; product weight 5.35 kg. Maker's page |
| Silver Cross Jet 5 | UK & US | 25.4 × 36.8 × 62.2 cm10 × 14.5 × 24.5 in | 7.2 kg15.87 lb | 0 of 16 | Silver Cross US gives folded dimensions of 10 × 14.5 × 24.5 in and 15.87 lb; Silver Cross Australia gives 25 × 37 × 60 cm. We use the larger US figure. Maker's page · second source |
| Mountain Buggy nano | UK & US | 51 × 54 × 30 cm20.1 × 21.3 × 11.8 in | 5.9 kg13 lb | 0 of 16 | Folded dimensions (H × W × L) 51 × 54 × 30 cm; product weight 5.9 kg. Maker's page |
| UPPAbaby Minu V3 | US | 25.4 × 45.7 × 54.6 cm10 × 18 × 21.5 in | 7.6 kg16.7 lb | 0 of 16 | Folded 10 × 18 × 21.5 in; true weight 16.7 lb. Maker's page |
| Nuna TRVL | US | 61.0 × 51.4 × 27.9 cm24 × 20.25 × 11 in | 6.2 kg13.6 lb | 0 of 16 | Folded, armbar removed: 24 × 20.25 × 11 in; 13.6 lb. Maker's page |
| Colugo Compact Stroller | US | 44.7 × 26.9 × 55.9 cm17.6 × 10.6 × 22 in | 7.3 kg16.18 lb | 0 of 16 | Folded size 17.6 × 10.6 × 22 in; 16.18 lb. Maker's page |
| Zoe The Traveler | US | 47.0 × 54.6 × 24.1 cm18.5 × 21.5 × 9.5 in | 5.9 kg13 lb | 0 of 16 | Closed dimensions 18.5 × 21.5 × 9.5 in; 13 lb. (Zoe's FAQ gives 10 × 19 × 22 in; we use the product page figure.) Maker's page · second source |
| Chicco Liteway | US | 116.8 × 25.4 × 29.8 cm46 × 10 × 11.75 in | 7.8 kg17.2 lb | 0 of 16 | Folded dimensions 46 × 10 × 11.75 in (an umbrella-fold stroller); 17.2 lb. Maker's page |
| Graco Ready2Jet | US | Not stated by the maker | 6.0 kg13.2 lb | 0 of 16 | Graco gives the weight (13.2 lb) but no folded dimensions on its product page; Graco staff answering questions there say they don't have folded dimensions with the wheels removed. Maker's page |
Compatibility matrix
Fits = fits in cabin on paper. Gate = gate-check only (or door or hold). Not stated = can't be decided from official figures. Airlines are listed with their stated cabin limit.
| Airline (cabin limit) | Cybex Libelle | Stokke YOYO | Baby Jogger City Tour 2 | Joolz Aer | Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | Joie Pact Lite | Silver Cross Jet 5 | Mountain Buggy nano | UPPAbaby Minu V3 | Nuna TRVL | Colugo Compact | Zoe The Traveler | Chicco Liteway | Graco Ready2Jet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Airways Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| easyJet Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Ryanair Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Jet2 Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| TUI Airways 55 × 40 × 20 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in · 10 kg22 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Virgin Atlantic 56 × 36 × 23 cm22 × 14.2 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Aer Lingus Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| KLM Only if space | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Air France 55 × 45 × 25 cm21.7 × 17.7 × 9.8 in | Fits | Fits | Fits | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Emirates Only if space | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Qatar Airways Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| American Airlines 56 × 36 × 23 cm22 × 14.2 × 9.1 in · 9.1 kg20 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Delta Air Lines Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| United Airlines 56 × 35 × 23 cm22 × 13.8 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| JetBlue 56 × 36 × 23 cm22 × 14.2 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Air Canada Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Turkish Airlines 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in · 8 kg17.6 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Iberia Only if space | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Icelandair Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Wizz Air 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Vueling 55 × 40 × 20 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in · 10 kg22 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Loganair Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| SAS Scandinavian Airlines 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Norwegian Yes, instead of a cabin bag (no size given) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Finnair 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in · 8 kg17.6 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| SWISS International Air Lines 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Austrian Airlines 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| TAP Air Portugal 55 × 40 × 25 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.8 in · 10 kg22 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Brussels Airlines Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| AEGEAN Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Eurowings Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Singapore Airlines L+W+H 115 cm · 7 kg15.4 lb | Fits | Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| Etihad Airways Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Cathay Pacific Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Qantas Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Air New Zealand 55 × 40 × 23 cm21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in · 7 kg15.4 lb | Fits | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Not stated |
| WestJet Not stated | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate | Gate |
| Frontier Airlines Only if space | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Methodology
- Pushchair sizes come only from each maker's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where a maker gives inches, we convert to cm (1 in = 2.54 cm) for the comparison. Where two official pages disagree, we use the larger figure and say so.
- Airline rules come only from each airline's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026 (see our airline pushchair limits table and individual airline pages for sources). 3 airlines we track weren't re-checked that day and are left out: Lufthansa, Southwest Airlines and Alaska Airlines.
- Fits in cabin: the airline states a size a folded pushchair can meet to come on board (its own pushchair limit or its carry-on limit, which it says a compact pushchair can use), and the pushchair's sorted folded dimensions are all within the sorted limit (longest side against longest limit), plus under any stated weight limit. For Singapore Airlines we use its stated sum of length, width and height (115 cm) and 7 kg.
- Gate-check only: the pushchair is bigger or heavier than the stated cabin limit, or the airline only describes handing pushchairs over at the gate, aircraft door or check-in desk.
- Not stated: the airline allows a pushchair in the cabin "if there's space" without a size, the airline doesn't state its pushchair rule, the airline has a weight limit but the maker doesn't publish a weight, or the maker doesn't publish a folded size.
- This is a paper comparison. We didn't measure pushchairs ourselves. Bin space, aircraft type, fare type and crew decisions all affect what happens on the day.
Not included:
- gb Pockit+ All-City: gb's official site (gb-online.com) did not load for us on 30 Oct 2026, so we couldn't confirm its folded size from the maker.
- Ickle Bubba Gravity / Gravity Max: We couldn't find a folded size on Ickle Bubba's own website; retailer figures aren't used in this study.
- Joolz Aer+: The folded size wasn't on the Joolz Aer+ page we could load; we include the Joolz Aer, whose page states it.
Cite this study
You're welcome to use these findings. Please credit Kiddieko and link to this page.
Kiddieko (2026). Travel Pushchair vs Airline Cabin Compatibility Study 2026 (UK & US). https://kiddieko.com/travel-pushchair-airline-cabin-study-2026/ (data checked 30 October 2026).<a href="https://kiddieko.com/travel-pushchair-airline-cabin-study-2026/">Travel Pushchair vs Airline Cabin Compatibility Study 2026</a> by Kiddieko
Related: airline pushchair limits compared · cabin size checker · airline baby rule changes · best travel pushchair for flights
FAQ
Which travel pushchair fits the most airline cabins?
The most widely compatible pushchair is the Cybex Libelle, fitting the stated cabin limit on 16 of the 16 airlines that give one.
How many airlines let a pushchair into the cabin?
Only 16 of the 38 airlines state a size a folded pushchair can meet to come into the cabin. The rest hand pushchairs over at the gate, aircraft door or check-in desk, or don't say.
How did you decide whether a pushchair fits?
We compared each pushchair's folded size from its maker's own website with each airline's stated cabin limit, matching the longest side to the longest limit and so on, and checked weight where the airline gives a weight limit. Fitting on paper doesn't guarantee bin space on the day.
Can I use this data?
Yes. Download the CSV and credit Kiddieko with a link to this page.
Related guides
Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.
Handy tools
What kind of trip suits you?Four quick questions, then the guides that fit your family.
Will my stroller or pushchair fit in the cabin?Pick your US or UK airline, switch cm/kg or in/lbs, and check Disney's 31×52" gate.
Baby packing list builderA tick-box list for your trip, saved on your phone and printable.
The Kiddieko letter
Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.
