WestJet with a baby: infant fares, strollers, car seats and bassinets
What WestJet says about infant fares, baby baggage, strollers, car seats, bassinets and baby milk, taken only from WestJet's official pages. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026.
Key facts (last checked: 30 Oct 2026)
- Cabin stroller limit: Not stated by the airline
- Gate or aircraft door: One equipment item can be gate-checked.
Units follow the UK / US switch in the header (cm and kg, or inches and lb).
Infant fare and lap-infant age
On most routes lap-held infants under 2 pay no base fare or taxes; some international destinations charge infant taxes. Extra seats for infants are booked by phone at standard fares.
Infant baggage allowance
Lap infants: two pieces of infant or child equipment free (check one and gate-check another). Accepted equipment includes playpens, strollers (including multi-piece) and car seats.
Pushchair and stroller rules
Strollers count as free infant equipment; you can gate-check one item.
Cabin: A cabin stroller allowance is not stated; WestJet's carry-on limit is 56 × 36 × 23 cm (22 × 14 × 9 in).
Car seats and child restraints (CRS)
Transport Canada or FAA-approved car seats in a purchased seat (tell WestJet when booking). Not in Business; booster seats and baby hammocks not permitted; rear-facing seats usually at a window.
Bassinet or cot
Economy on select 787-9 aircraft, requested by choosing eligible seats when booking. Size and weight limits: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked.
Baby food and milk
Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked.
Compare WestJet with 40 other airlines in our sortable airline pushchair limits table (cm and inches), check your buggy in the cabin size checker, or read pushchair allowances by airline, car seats on planes and bassinet rules.
Sources
- WestJet: children and family. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- WestJet: car seats and restraint systems. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- WestJet: carry-on baggage. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
Every rule on this page comes from WestJet's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where the airline doesn't say something, we write "not stated by the airline" rather than guess. Rules change, so confirm with WestJet before you fly. Spotted a change? See our airline baby rule changes log.
FAQ
How much does a lap infant cost on WestJet?
On most routes lap-held infants under 2 pay no base fare or taxes; some international destinations charge infant taxes. Extra seats for infants are booked by phone at standard fares. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on WestJet's official website.)
Can I take a stroller on WestJet?
Strollers count as free infant equipment; you can gate-check one item. A cabin stroller allowance is not stated; WestJet's carry-on limit is 56 × 36 × 23 cm (22 × 14 × 9 in). (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on WestJet's official website.)
Can my baby use a car seat on WestJet?
Transport Canada or FAA-approved car seats in a purchased seat (tell WestJet when booking). Not in Business; booster seats and baby hammocks not permitted; rear-facing seats usually at a window. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on WestJet's official website.)
Does WestJet have bassinets or cots?
Economy on select 787-9 aircraft, requested by choosing eligible seats when booking. Size and weight limits: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on WestJet's official website.)
Can I bring baby food and milk on WestJet?
Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on WestJet's official website.)
Compact strollers for flying
| Product | Weight | Folded size | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | 7.3 kg (16.1 lbs) | 44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm (17.6 × 9.6 × 21.8 in, IATA cabin-compatible) | £435 RRP / $479 MSRP | Check price at Bugaboo |
| Joolz Aer+ | 6 kg (13.2 lbs) | 53.5 × 45 × 21.5 cm (21.1 × 17.7 × 8.5 in) | £419 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Joolz |
| Stokke YOYO3 (Babyzen YOYO) | 6.2 kg (13.6 lbs) | 52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in, IATA cabin-size) | £399 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Stokke |
| UPPAbaby Minu V2 | 7.7 kg (16.9 lbs) | 58.4 × 45.2 × 29.2 cm (23 × 17.8 × 11.5 in) | £399 RRP / $399 MSRP | Check price at UPPAbaby |
| Joie pact lite | 5.35 kg (11.8 lbs) | 46.8 × 26 × 54 cm (18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in) | Around £160 / $199 (varies by retailer) | Check price at Joie |
Blank cells: not yet verified from the maker's official page.
Related guides
Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.
Handy tools
The Kiddieko letter
Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.



