A pram on the quayside at Southampton with a cruise ship docked behind

Cruises with a baby from UK ports

A no-fly cruise from a UK port means no airport security, no cabin bag limits and no flight with a baby. The catch is age: every line sets a minimum age for babies, and some raise it on longer voyages. Here's what each line that sails from UK ports says on its own website.

From each cruise line's own website. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026. Rules differ by ship and sailing, so confirm the minimum age for your exact cruise before you book.

Key facts

Short answer: most big lines sailing from Southampton accept babies from 6 months, rising to 12 months on some longer voyages (often transatlantic crossings or cruises with 3 or more sea days in a row). Fred. Olsen accepts children from 12 months. MSC admits under-2s, except on cruises of 11 nights or more, where children must be at least 2. Ambassador's two ships are adults-only except on advertised multigenerational cruises.

Cruise lineUK departure portsMinimum age for a babyHigher minimum on some sailings
P&O CruisesSouthamptonChildren under 6 months are refused boardingSome holidays don't allow under-12-months; check with P&O before booking
CunardSouthamptonSix months plus are permitted on boardNot stated by the line on the pages we checked
Royal CaribbeanSouthampton (no-fly cruises)6 months on the first day of the cruise12 months for transatlantic, transpacific, Hawaii, select South American and other selected cruises, and any cruise with 3 or more consecutive sea days
MSC CruisesSouthampton (no-fly cruises)Under-2s admitted; a lower age limit is not stated by the lineAt least 2 years old on cruises of 11 nights or more
Celebrity CruisesSouthampton6 months on the first day of the cruise12 months for transatlantic, transpacific, Hawaii, some South American and selected cruises, and any cruise with 3 or more consecutive sea days
Princess CruisesSouthampton6 months at embarkation12 months for transatlantic crossings and remote itineraries
Norwegian (NCL)Southampton6 months on the day of boarding12 months if the cruise has 3 or more consecutive days at sea
Fred. OlsenSouthampton, Liverpool, Newcastle, Portsmouth and Rosyth12 months (ages 12 months to 17 on Bolette and Balmoral)Borealis is adults-only
AmbassadorSeven UK ports: London Tilbury, Liverpool, Newcastle, Belfast, Bristol, Portsmouth and DundeeAmbition and Ambience are adults-only (18 and over), except advertised multigenerational cruisesMinimum age on multigenerational cruises: not stated by the line

Marella Cruises (TUI) says infants under 6 months can't travel on its cruises, but we didn't find UK departure ports on its pages, so it isn't in the table. Disney Cruise Line and Costa Cruises are also left out because we couldn't confirm UK departures on their own sites.

How to read the minimum ages

FAQ

What is the youngest age a baby can go on a cruise from Southampton?

On most lines it's 6 months: P&O Cruises, Cunard, Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Princess and NCL. MSC admits under-2s on cruises shorter than 11 nights without stating a lower limit, so ask MSC about a very young baby.

Can a baby go on a transatlantic crossing?

Usually only from 12 months. Royal Caribbean, Celebrity and Princess all set 12 months for transatlantic sailings.

Which UK cruise line sails from the most UK ports?

Ambassador says it sails from seven UK ports, but its ships are adults-only except on advertised multigenerational cruises. Fred. Olsen lists Southampton, Liverpool, Newcastle, Portsmouth and Rosyth, and accepts children from 12 months.

Does Fred. Olsen accept babies?

Not under 12 months. Fred. Olsen accepts guests aged 12 months to 17 on Bolette and Balmoral, and Borealis is adults-only.

Do I need travel insurance for a cruise with a baby?

Yes. GOV.UK says cruises generally need an additional level of cover. See our travel insurance for babies guide.

Sources (Last checked: 30 Oct 2026)

More cruise guides

Back to cruising with a baby.

Last checked and updated: · Kiddieko · How we check facts

Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.

Handy tools

The Kiddieko letter

Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.


We only use your email to send the letter, and you can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy policy.